News Flash

Parks & Recreation

Posted on: August 8, 2022

Town Gives Heroism Award to Summer Parks Employees Who Aided Wounded Cyclist


At a recent meeting of the Babylon Town Board, Supervisor Rich Schaffer, Deputy Supervisor Tony Martinez, Councilman DuWayne Gregory and the rest of the board presented Meagan Reilly and Don Chiappetta, two seasonal employees at Cedar Beach Marina, with the Town of Babylon Heroism Award, the highest honor offered. 

In June of 2021, Meagan and Don were working at the Marina when Meagan noticed a bicycle in the bushes off of the Ocean Parkway Coastal Greenway near the entrance to Cedar Beach Marina. The two rushed to the scene and found cyclist Alex Szulman, who was disoriented and injured after passing out while riding his bike. 

Meagan, a young nursing student at the time, quickly sprang into action, calling 911, and addressing Mr. Szulman’s injuries until paramedics arrived. Meagan noticed that Mr. Szulman was wearing and ID bracelet, allowing her to communicate with him using his first name. She was able to ask questions, checking the level of disorientation that could be associated with a head injury, and help make him feel more comfortable.  

“It was a miracle that Alex passed out exactly where he did and we will be forever grateful to Meagan for her deep compassion and nursing skills that helped Alex have a good outcome after a very scary situation that might have ended much worse if it weren’t for her,” Carla and Alex Szulman said in a letter to the Town. 

“This story is a perfect testament to the terrific seasonal staff we have working at all of our parks facilities each year,” said Councilman DuWayne Gregory. “On behalf of the board, it is my honor to present Meagan and Don with the Town’s heroism award and thank them for life-saving action they took when they came to Mr. Szulman’s aid last summer,” he added. 

Photo (Left to Right): Deputy Supervisor Tony Martinez, Suffolk County Legislator Tom Donnelly, Councilman DuWayne Gregory, Parks Supervisor Frank Riviezzo, Deputy Parks Commissioner Eva Rodriguez-Greguski, Parks Commissioner Dan McKeon, retired former Parks Commissioner Celeste Kusmierski, Don Chiapetta, Meagan Reilly, Supervisor Rich Schaffer, Councilman Anthony Manetta, Receiver of Taxes Jennifer Montiglio, Councilman Terence McSweeney and Town Attorney Joseph Wilson. 


Facebook Twitter Email