News Flash Home
The original item was published from 10/30/2015 2:45:00 PM to 12/31/2015 12:00:02 AM.

News Flash

Homepage News Banner

Posted on: October 30, 2015

[ARCHIVED] Councilman Donnelly Honored as “Government Official of the Year”


Town of Babylon Councilman Tom Donnelly was recently named Government Official of the Year by the United North Amityville Youth Organization (UNAYO) at their annual awards dinner. Councilman Donnelly received this honor after his years of public service in the Town of Babylon as well as for his decades as a decorated member of both the Deer Park Fire Department and the New York City Fire Department. Councilman Donnelly also serves as the Town’s Chairman of Health and Human Services, where he is heavily involved in the Town’s senior citizen centers and family wellness programs. Councilwoman Jackie Gordon was also in attendance for the event.

The following individuals were also honored at the event for their service to the community:
- Community Trailblazer: Joe Turner
- Youth Motivator: aDrena Brown
- Educator of the Year: Anjany Persaud
- Community Service: Quinnell Martin
- Volunteer of the Year: Kenya Woods
- Business of the Year: Anthony Accardi, Pizza Express
- Philanthropic Inspiration: John Thiessen, John Thiessen Children’s Foundation
- Community Service and Special Recognition: Amityville Parent Teach Council

UNAYO formed in 1989 as a response to various concerns in the North Amityville community. Since its inception, UNAYO has run numerous successful programs to prepare today’s youth to be active members of their community. For more information on UNAYO, please visit

For more information on Councilman Donnelly, visit

Pictured from left to right are Ben Lamberson, President, UNAYO Board of Directors; Claire McKeon, Executive Director, Town of Babylon Youth Bureau; Charvon Davis-Pierce of Suffolk County Presiding Officer DuWayne Gregory’s Office; Honoree Joe Turner; Councilman Donnelly; Honoree Maresa Dealy, President of the Amityville Parent Teach; Honoree Kenya Woods; Honoree aDrena Brown; Dwayne Willsin, recipient of the Magnolia Williams Plant A Seed Scholarship; Honoree Anjany Persaud; Honoree Kemoni Francis: Honoree “Coach Q” Quinnell Martin; Demetrius Terrell, recipient of the Tutt Family Scholarship: Sonji Crawford-Clark, UNAYO Executive Director; and Councilwoman Gordon.

Facebook Twitter Email